New York Logger Training logoNew York Logger Training (NYLT) is an organization administered by the Empire State Forest Products Association. NYLT is the organization responsible for the Trained Logger Certification (TLC) program. For more information on the TLC Program, available state-wide TLC classes and TLC related inquiries including your TLC status, please contact: New York Logger Training at (518) 463-1297 or check out New York Logger Training’s workshop schedule

The WAC Forestry Program provides logger training classes that are approved by NYLT for TLC eligibility and located solely in the NYC watershed region. Visit the WAC Logger Training calendar for logger trainings in the NYC watershed region.

TLC recognizes loggers who are committed to learning about logging safety, productivity, and environmental issues. TLC can help loggers become more profitable and reduces logging accidents. TLC certification is required to log on land belonging to New York State.

To become Trained Logger Certified, loggers have to complete the three “core” classes:

  1. GAME OF LOGGING: LEVEL 1 introduces loggers to open face felling and the techniques to safely use it. Other topics covered include personal protective equipment, chainsaw safety, bore cutting, pre-planning the fell, and understanding hinge wood strength.
  2. FOREST ECOLOGY & SILVICULTURE introduces the basics of forest ecosystems, silviculture, and Best Management Practices. During the afternoon, participants go on a woods walk to put their new knowledge to work.
  3. ADULT FIRST AID & CPR meet both TLC and OSHA workplace requirements. Participants learn how to respond to first aid, breathing, and cardiac emergencies. Certificates are valid for two years and must always be current.
    TLC recognizes American Red Cross, American Heart Association, and National Safety Council These courses are often available through fire halls and hospitals.

TLC certification is good for three years. To maintain it, loggers need to earn three continuing education credits before it expires. They also need to renew their First Aid& CPR certification every two years, and this refresher course counts as half a credit. Other credits are obtained by attending continuing education workshops. It is recommended that loggers completing one continuing education credit each year to stay ahead.

Examples of Continuing Education Workshops include:

  • Advanced Game of Logging Classes
  • Log Bucking Workshop
  • Logger Rescue
  • Skidder Bridge Building
  • Mechanical Harvesting
  • Invasive Forest Pests
  • Navigating Wetlands

When loggers complete three continuing education credits, their TLC will be extended three years from its previous expiration date.

Loggers that are TLC Certified qualify for higher funding levels and cost-share rates when participating in the Forestry’s Best Management Practice (BMP) Program.