Council of Directors

The Watershed Agricultural Council seats a 16-member Council of Directors, which represents the interests of farm and forest landowners within the New York City water supply region. Charged with the WAC’s policy making and fiscal oversight, the Board selects Council members from the Catskill, Delaware and Croton watersheds.

 2018 Council Members:
Sally Fairbairn, Chair, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
Dave Cammer, Vice-chair, Retired dairy farmer/maple syrup producer, Schoharie County
Eleanor Blakeslee-Drain, Organic Vegetable Farmer, Delaware County
Nancy Bower, Greene County
Larry Burgin, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
Chris DiBenedetto, Dairy farmer, Greene County
Joe Evans, Sheep farmer, Delaware County
Richard Giles, Secretary, Organic vegetable farmer, Delaware County
Wayland Gladstone, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
Jeff Graff, Representative for DEP Commissioner Vincent Sapienza
Karl Gockel, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
Jennifer Grossman, Attorney, Delaware County
Fred Huneke, Retired dairy farmer, Delaware County
Tom Hutson, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
Steve Reed, Dairy farmer, Delaware County
John Riedl, Treasurer, Former school superintendent/forest landowner, Schoharie County
John Verhoeven, Angus beef farmer, Greene County


2018 Non-Council Committee Members:
Frank Albano
Jan Blaire
Brian Bower
Rob Clark
James Darling
Laura Demaria
Gwen Deysenroth
Barbara Howard
Shannon Mason
Betsey Ryder
Robert Tompkins
Trish Vasta
Abby Wilson
Frank Winkler
The Council oversees much of its policy and programmatic work through “Committees.” Click here for a complete list of 2018 committees and members.