Karl Connell Award Winners

This award honors Karl Connell, a Catskill Mountain leader in conservation who helped mediate the citizen interests upstream with the New York City interests to protect its water supply. The Karl Connell Award recognizes individuals for their wisdom, guidance, and leadership in promoting forest stewardship and protecting water quality.

Plaque Inscription on the Karl Connell Watershed Forestry Award: The Directors, Partners and Staff of the Watershed Agricultural Council, Inc. wish to formally recognize the honorees for their wisdom, guidance and leadership in the development and support of the Watershed Agricultural Council’s Forestry Program to promote forest stewardship, working forest land and water quality protection in the New York City watershed.

Past Karl Connell Award Recipients
2003 Karl Connell, Esq.
2004 Marcus Phelps (retired U.S. Forest Service)
2005 John Schwartz (NYC DEP)
2006 Dr. René Germain, Ph.D. (SUNY-ESF)
2007 Congressman Maurice Hinchey
2008 No Award Given
2009 Paul Trotta (retired NYS DEC)
2010 Jack McShane
2011 Eric Rasmussen
2012 No Award Given
2013 Daniel Palm, PhD